Corporal injuries on a child and child abuse laws here in the State of California are a serious matter with lasting effects for all parties involved. Corporal injury on a child specifically applies to the physical abuse of a child. You could be facing misdemeanor or felony charges depending on the facts of your case and your criminal background. The San Diego criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Bradley R. Corbett are experienced with defending corporal injury on a child cases and can help you with your case.
In legal terms, corporal injury on a child differs from domestic violence. According to California state law, domestic violence occurs only between those involved in adult domestic relationships (as defined by CA Penal Code §273.5).
Corporal child abuse, however, is defined by the state of California as willful infliction of a cruel or inhuman corporal punishment on a child, or any injury to a child that results in a traumatic condition. Examples of corporal child abuse include but are not limited to:
- Burning, and more
It is up to the prosecution to prove two facts in order to secure a corporal child abuse conviction:
- That you willfully inflicted cruel or inhuman physical punishment or injury on a child
- That the punishment or injury resulted in a traumatic condition
If you are found guilty of a misdemeanor corporal child abuse charge, you could face up to one year in a county jail and a $6,000 fine. Felony corporal child abuse convictions carry harsher penalties resulting in a prison term of 2-4 years and a $6,000 fine.
The San Diego criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Bradley R. Corbett can help. Call or visit us for a consultation regarding your corporal child abuse case today.