Corporal injury on a spouse or mate is another form of domestic abuse or spousal battery that can have lifelong ramifications. Unfortunately, many charges of corporal injury on a spouse or mate stem from a lot of he-said/she-said allegations that can often land innocent people in jail. Don’t let this happen to you! Contact the San Diego criminal defense attorney who will work to provide you with the best defense possible for your spousal abuse or corporal injury on a spouse case.
Without proper defense, you could face a minimum of 3 years probation, one year in a county jail and up to $6,000 in fines and more if you are charged with a misdemeanor. A felony charge could carry penalties of up to 4 years in state prison, an additional 3-5 years in prison depending on the severity of the act, and a possible strike on your record under California’s three strike program.
Much like other domestic violence offenses, the prosecution must prove three elements in order to secure a conviction including:
- That corporal (bodily) injury was inflicted upon your spouse, current or former cohabitant, or the mother/father of your child
- That the injury was willfully inflicted
- That the injury resulted in a traumatic condition
There are legal defenses which can be used in a corporal injury on a spouse case, one of the most common being the mutual struggle defense found in California’s rules of self defense. Visit the offices of our San Diego criminal defense attorney for a consultation and further information regarding your spousal abuse case today.