Consequences of a DUI
Driving under the influence is a dangerous act and being charged with a DUI or DWI can have very serious consequences. In California, you can be charged with a DUI if your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or more. However, you can also be charged if you are below the limit but fail to pass sobriety tests. It’s important to understand the consequences you can face if you are charged.
Fines, Probation, Jail Time
Once charged, you will face steep fines that vary depending on the severity of the offense and the number of times you’ve been charged. A first time offense can carry a fine between $1,500 and $2,000. There are also penalty assessments that can significantly raise the overall amount you have to pay in fines. In addition to paying fines, you may also receive probation or face jail time. If it is your first offense, it is more likely that you will be given probation, but a first time offense can possibly lead to six months of jail time.
After being charged, you will likely need to register for DUI school which is a program designed to educate individuals about driving under the influence, drug abuse, and DUI laws. These classes also offer some form of counseling that is typically done in group settings. The length and cost of the class will depend on your offense. The shortest course will take 12 hours and costs $270. For more severe cases, it could cost $3,000 and last three months.
As expected, you are likely to face some driving limitations if you’ve been charged with a DUI. First off, your license will be suspended. The amount of time for your suspension will depend on the severity of the charge. A first time offense will typically include a minimum of six months. There are also administrative suspensions added on top of the initial suspension if your BAC is above 0.08%. Along with a license suspension, you may also receive an ignition interlock device for a certain amount of time. This device will prevent you from starting your vehicle if you do not pass a breathalyzer test.
A DUI carries significant consequences that can immediately impact your life. In addition to these legal consequences, you may face difficulties in your personal life or career. For your benefit, you should hire an attorney.
Talk with a DUI/DWI Attorney.
Bradley Corbett is a criminal defense attorney in San Diego. He graduated from Brigham Young University in Provo Utah in 2004. Later he enrolled at Thomas Jefferson School of Law in San Diego where he participated in a prestigious internship program with the Los Angeles County Public Defender. Since then he has handled over 2,000 cases.