Making or purchasing a fake California ID may seem like a good idea at first. You may have gotten it to join in with friends who were going to a club you weren’t quite old enough to get into, or you were trying to stay in the country and avoid deportation. Or perhaps you didn’t even realize the ID was fake. But that good idea can seem like a bad one in a hurry when you are caught and charged with possessing or using a fake California ID
California Fake ID Laws
So what exactly are California’s fake ID laws? According to California Penal Code 470b PC, possession of a fake ID with the intention of using it to deceive someone is a crime. A person might be considered to possess a fake ID if they are physically carrying it on their body or clothes, or if it is in a place where you exercise control, such as your room, wallet, or inside your car.
A person cannot be charged for a fake ID unless there is proof of intent to deceive. Such proof might include changing the birthday on a California ID in order to buy liquor or get into a club. Another example might be to change the picture on a military ID in order to get military discounts. This type of crime can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the prosecutor and the situation.
What Is a Fake ID?
A fake ID is any driver’s license or government-issued ID card that has been counterfeited, copied, or changed in any way, usually with the intention of deception. Any alteration of a government-issued ID could technically be considered a fake ID. Carrying any of these fake IDs in California could be considered a crime:
- US passport
- Military ID
- State driver’s license
- Social security card
- Government employee ID
Penalties For Possessing a Fake ID in the San Diego Area
If you are convicted of possessing or using a fake ID, depending on the type of conviction, the punishment can be severe. You could face up to three years in prison and pay a $10,000 fine. According to California fake ID laws, you might also have your license revoked for up to a year, or be forced to wait an extra year before you earn your license.
If you are charged with a misdemeanor, you might be punished with up to a year in jail, community service, or fines of up to $1,000.
Those convicted of a felony for possession of a fake ID could spend up to three years in prison, receive formal probation, community service requirements, or fines of up to $10,000.
Defenses For a Fake ID in the San Diego Area
If you’ve been charged for possessing a fake ID in San Diego, there is no need to feel discouraged. Bradley R. Corbett and our legal team know some of the best ways to fight your case. We know California fake ID laws inside and out. We can create a defense tailored from the details of your case to help reduce or dismiss your charges.
One of the best ways to reduce California fake ID charges is by having a sound defense. Some of the various legal defenses against California’s fake ID law are:
- You did not know that the license or ID card was fake.
- You didn’t intend to commit fraud (meaning you didn’t intend to use it to deceive another person), or
- You didn’t actually possess the fake ID (meaning that while it may have been in your house, for example, it actually belongs to someone else)
Contact a Lawyer in the San Diego Area Today
Being charged with a fake ID in the San Diego area—or any other crime—comes with stress and anxiety, but it’s important to know that you are not alone in your situation. With the right lawyer, you can ease your anxiety and pursue a better outcome.
Let our team help relieve those feelings by covering your defense. The Law Office of Bradley Corbett has the experience and knowledge to provide the representation you need.
Contact us today for a free consultation or to learn more about California fake ID laws. Our San Diego criminal defense law office is happy to help anyone who has been charged for possession of a fake ID in California.