It is a constitutional right in America to have the ability to bear arms. But if you are a convicted felon, California law prohibits you from purchasing, receiving, owning, or even holding a firearm. The San Diego attorneys at the Law Offices of Bradley R. Corbett are experienced with California gun laws and are here to help you. Don’t face a felon with a firearm charge alone.
California’s felon with a firearm law doesn’t just apply to convicted felons. In fact, the law states that
- Someone convicted of a felony, anywhere in the country, cannot carry or own a firearm
- Someone convicted of specific misdemeanors cannot carry or own a firearm
- Someone legally “addicted” to any narcotic drug cannot carry or own a firearm
The prosecution in such a case will need to prove that you fall into one of these three categories, that you owned, received or held a gun, and that you knew of the gun’s presence.
What Does California Consider a “Firearm”?
The answer is simple. Any device designed to be used as a weapon, from which is expelled through a barrel, a projectile by the force of any explosion, or other form of combustion is considered a firearm. This includes but is not limited to:
The penalties for a felon with a firearm conviction can be harsh. In order to avoid a 1-3 year prison term and a fine of up to $10,000, you will want the help of an expert San Diego criminal defense attorney. Call Bradley R. Corbett for a consultation today!