Carrying a Loaded Firearm California Penal Code 12031
A person has violated California Penal Code 12031 when he or she is carrying a loaded firearm while in any public place or street in a prohibited area. There are four elements to meet to satisfy California Penal Code 12031. They are 1) Loaded 2) Firearm 3) Public place 4) Prohibited area. There are four common defenses to California Penal Code 12031.
The four common defenses under California Penal Code 12031 are 1) The person had no knowledge of possessing the firearm 2) The weapon was not loaded 3) The person did not possess the firearm/weapon in a public place in a forbidden area. 4) Police misconduct. California Penal Code 12031 doesn’t apply to 1) Peace officers 2) members of the military 3) Vehicle guards 4) Federal officers 5) Permits to possess a firearm.
A person possessing a loaded firearm/weapon on them or in a vehicle is considered to be a misdemeanor. The person will face probation, maximum sentence of one year in county jail, and a fine up to $1,000. However, Penal Code 12031 is considered to be a wobbler as well. This law becomes a wobbler whenever the person possess the firearm and 1) The person in the past was convicted of a misdemeanor crime for property, drugs 2) The person is not a registered owner of a loaded firearm.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon California Penal Code 12025
California Penal Code 12025 puts a person responsible for carrying a concealed weapon with them or in a vehicle. A weapon is defined pursuant to California Penal Code 12025 as any device, designed to be used as a weapon, from which is expelled through a barrel by the force of any explosion or other form of combustion. A person is guilty of a concealed weapon when the person 1) Carries the weapon in a vehicle that is under their control such as pistols, revolver, or other related weapons. 2) Carries the weapon upon the person 3) The person has carried the concealed weapon in a vehicle which the person is the holder of the weapon. There are eight defenses to California Penal Code 12025
The eight defenses are 1) The person had no knowledge of carrying the weapon 2) The weapon was in the trunk or other locked place of the vehicle. 3) The person has a license to carry the weapon 4) The weapon was not concealed, however it was carried in plain view. 5) The weapon was within the person’s home or place of business 6) The weapon was obtained through an illegal search and seizure (4thamendment rights were infringed). 7) The weapon was carried for self-defense. 8) Police misconduct.
Lack of knowledge of carrying the weapon
The weapon was in the trunk or some other locked compartment
The person has a license to carry a concealed weapon
The concealed weapon was within your home or place of business
The weapon was obtained as a result of an illegal search and seizure
The person carried the weapon in self-defense
The penalties under California Penal Code 12025 are 16 months or two to three years in state prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Firearm offenses or charges under California’s gun laws are a serious matter that requires the help of an expert San Diego criminal defense attorney. Bradley R. Corbett is a lawyer with vast experience in defending gun law violation cases.
California has many laws relating to firearms. There are laws that restrict certain types of firearms from ownership, handling, and selling. If you were to try and navigate the convoluted and ever-changing waters of California’s gun laws alone, you would most likely sink. The San Diego lawyers at the Law Office of Bradley R. Corbett are familiar with these laws and, more importantly, have successfully defended their clients before in these situations.
What Penalties Could I Face?
The answer to this question depends on a few things. First, a judge in a firearm offense case will look at whether the offense is charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. Obviously, a misdemeanor will carry a lighter penalty. The judge will also look at the type of firearm used, your criminal background, and whether you are subject to firearm sentencing enhancements. These sentencing enhancements can add time to your prison sentence or increase the fine you may have to pay. Depending on the severity of the charge, you could face anywhere from 1-3 years in prison with a $1,000 fine to 25 years-to-life in prison with a $10,000 or more fine.
Don’t leave your freedom to chance. Call or visit us our expert San Diego criminal defense attorneys to learn more about California’s gun laws and how we can help protect your freedom.